School Logo

Cherry Oak School

Working Together for Success

School Logo

Cherry Oak School

Working Together for Success



Welcome to the Governors section of our school website.

As we are in Federation with Victoria School we have one joint Governing Body.


Our Federation brings innumerable benefits and it has been a huge success. We have staff who are employed over the Federation, we share resources and expertise. 


Many of the Governors have a great deal of experience and offer us both challenge and support as necessary. All the Governors are extremely dedicated and give generously of their time to both schools in the Federation.


Our Governors are made up of representatives from key stakeholder groups - parents, staff, the Local Authority and the local community.


We generally have two full Governing Body meetings a term and we also have committees for Finance, Personnel and Buildings, Health and Safety.


You can contact the Governing Body through the Clerk to the Governors - Ms Clare Blackshaw by using the email contact sheet below.

Clare Mills, BA Hons PGCE NPQH: Chair of Governors

Originally from Newport Gwent, I came to Birmingham in 1977 to do a
Spanish degree at Birmingham University and never went home!  I’ve
taught in challenging schools all over Birmingham and was accepted for The Future Leaders Programme for headship in 2010. Since then I have been privileged to serve children in Birmingham, Middlesbrough and Liverpool as a Consultant Head Teacher. I’ve recently returned to the area after living in Smethwick with my late husband and am happy to be back near my children and grandchildren. I was honoured when asked to join the board of governors in February 2017 and am very proud to represent all the governors as Chair. I look forward to working with all of you in maintaining and improving the provision for our super young people across the federation.

Members of the Governing Body


Clare Mills Chair of Governors, Co-opted Governor 3/2/21

Charlotte Bull Vice Chair, Co-opted Governor 30/9/19

Julie Fardell Executive Headteacher 

Anne Barnes Co-opted Governor, Link and Safeguarding Governor,

Medical Conditions 11/07/21

John Pemberton Elected Parent Governor 22/11/22

Lisa Wooton Elected Parent Governor 22/11/22

Sadie Bolton Co-opted Governor 12/7/21

Christine Dalby-Ali Co-opted Governor 11/12/22

Martin Carpenter Co-opted Governor 12/7/21

Sue McCorkindale Co-opted Governor, Curriculum and SEN

Governor 9/12/17

Lesley Jackson Co-opted Governor 14/3/22

Kristin Sanders Co-opted Governor 11/12/22

Peter Douglas Osborn Co-opted Governor 3/12/19

Bill Woodhouse Co-opted Governor 11/07/21

Onos Emmanuel-Kokoh LA Governor 14/3/22

Mark Cottam Elected Staff Governor 16/4/21

(vacancy) Co-opted Governor 

Clare Blackshaw Clerk to the Governors

Committee Members



Charlotte Bull (Chair), Sue McCorkindale (Vice Chair), Clare Mills, Kristin Sanders, Julie Fardell


Health, Safety and Buildings  

Bill Woodhouse (Chair),  Peter Douglas Osborn, Martin Carpenter, Julie Fardell

Teaching & Learning

Clare Mills (Chair), Sadie Bolton (Vice Chair), Anne Barnes, Sue McCorkindale, Julie Fardell



LeLesley Jackson (Chair), Christine Dalby-Ali, Peter Douglas Osborn, John Pemberton, Bill Woodhouse, Julie Fardell



Anne Barnes, Peter Douglas Osborn, Kristin Sanders, Bill Woodhouse

Governing Body Audit

Anne Barnes, Julie Fardell, Sue McCorkindale

Resilience Planning Team 

Pauline McKenna, Julie Fardell, Bill Woodhouse, Martin Carpenter